1. Home
  2. Account Management
  3. User Management and User Roles

User Management and User Roles

Updated on May 14, 2019 Download PDFDownload as PDF
Download PDF

Note:

This article is about the new version of User Management system, released on May 2019, it is currently only available for new WalkMe users and is being gradually released for all other users. Click here for the legacy User Management system article.

Brief Overview

User Management is a feature in Analytics that supports team collaboration in the WalkMe Editor. In User Management, users can view who has access to their WalkMe content and control different levels of access for other users in the WalkMe account. Set permissions and limitations for all those who access your Editor; for example, allow other users View Only access and other users Editing but not Publishing access.

When assembling a team and implementation plan for WalkMe, consider who will have what responsibilities. It is recommended that members of a team do not use the same login information; rather each team member should have their own account with access to the main WalkMe account. Setting appropriate user roles will prevent items from getting mistakenly changed or published before they’re ready. When each user has their own account, you can specially assign permissions and limitations for building, reviewing, editing, publishing, and analyzing your content.

Use Cases

Here are some examples of how to use roles:

  • If you’re looking to have someone just publish a Smart Walk-Thru, without the ability to edit or change it, try the Publisher role. It will allow them to look over the Smart Walk-Thrus and publish only.
  • If you’d like someone to create a Smart Walk-Thru for you, but you don’t want them to be able to publish it or make it “live” on your website, give them a Workspace Owner role.
  • If you want to preserve the integrity of the Smart Walk-Thru, assigning the Workspace Moderator role. This role will allow a user to edit the text but not change the flow of the Smart Walk-Thru.
  • If you’ve hired someone to translate your Smart Walk-Thru to another language, try giving them Translator role, but restrict them from everything else.

Note: If you have a Multi-System Administration account, please read our Multi-System Administration article as well.

How It Works

To access the User Management settings, go to Insights.walkme.com, navigate to the Accounts page and in the left-hand menu, click on the User Management tab.

Note:

For existing users, transitioning to the new system, the publishing rights management has moved from the User Settings into the Role Settings.

Add a New User

  1. In the Users tab, and fill in the form then click on the ADD USER button.
  2. When a new user is created, you must use an email address that isn’t already assigned to a WalkMe account.
  3. A new user must be assigned a role:

 

Note:

When a new user logs into WalkMe for the first time, they will be instructed to reset the initial password that was assigned to them

Delete User

Delete a user to completely block them from having any access to that account. Be aware that deleting a user will permanently delete that account.

Roles

The user’s role defines their permissions and limitations. Each role specifies the user’s access to the following features:
  • Workspace (broken down by each individual App)
  • Insights
  • User Management
  • Edit Languages
  • Settings
  • Publish Rights (broken down into environments or ‘environments per MSA systems’ (if relevant))
  • Customize
MSA

For MSA users, the role assigned applies across all systems. It is not possible to assign a role for each system separately.

Access rights

Each feature can be assigned one of the following access rights level:

  • Inherit – the permissions will be inherited from the relevant parent feature. E.g. If Test environment under Publish Rights feature is assigned Inherit, the value of the Publish Rights will be applied.
  • None – the user will not have access to the feature. E.g. user None assigned to the Insights feature will not be able to login to Insights.
  • Read – the user will only be able to view items.
  • Modify – the user will be able to view and also modify the text. Applies only to items with texts.
  • Write – the user will be able to view and modify the text and also to add new items.

Predefined Roles

Predefined roles are roles with set permissions intended for typical use cases.
Predefined roles can be viewed but not edited.

These are the predefined roles WalkMe support:

  • Admin– Full access
  • Analytics Access- View only (use case: Insights reviewer)
  • Content Curator- View only (use case: reviewer)
  • Content Moderator- Write (use case: technical writer)
  • Publisher- View and publish
  • Translator- Allow translator to translate content in the Multi-Language page
  • Workspace Moderator- Full access, except publish and User Management
  • Workspace Owner- Full access, except User Management
If none of the preset roles fit your needs, you can create a custom role. Once a role is created, you can assign it to users.

Adding a new custom role

WalkMe supports a number of pre-defined roles (see above) that cannot be edited, though it is possible to create any number of custom roles.

To add a new custom role:

  1. Click on the Roles tab
  2. Click on the ADD ROLE button
  3. Assign the appropriate access right to each feature:

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles