Roles and Permissions

Last Updated February 20, 2024

Brief Overview

The Roles and Permissions page in the Admin Center presents clear and intuitive user management architecture including a new roles hierarchy that shows detailed role permissions and eliminates the need for custom roles

Access it from admin.walkme.com.

Use Cases

  • Improve user management consistency across accounts
  • Help WalkMe admins manage team permissions by standardizing role distribution and hierarchy in each account
  • Add a new permission type to support basic use cases (separate publish to production and test environments)
  • Increase account security by reducing the number of “Admin” users per account

Predefined Roles

A user’s role defines their permissions and limitations. In the Roles tab you will see all of the Roles listed with the corresponding number of assigned users.

These are the predefined roles WalkMe supports:

  • Admin: Have complete control over the account, including settings and user management

  • Content Manager: Create and modify WalkMe content and settings, publish to non-production environments

  • Builder: Have full access, except for publishing and User Management

  • Publisher: View WalkMe content and settings, publish to all environments

  • Content Creator: Edit WalkMe content and view settings – No access to publishing
    (use case: technical writer)

  • Content Viewer: View WalkMe content and settings – Includes access to Insights.
    (use case: reviewer)

  • Analyst: View WalkMe content and settings, have complete access to Insights (use case: Insights reviewer)

  • Translator: Create and modify Text & Multi-Language content – No access to the Editor

  • New! System Manager: Manage systems assigned to you and associated users – No access to security and API keys

Note

Products and capabilities that are not related to a specific role type won’t display in the set of permissions.

Each role specifies the user’s access to the following features:

  • WorkSpace: Permissions to perform actions on specific the apps in the Editor
  • Settings: Permission to save settings in the Editor
  • Insights: Permissions to perform changes in Insights
    • Note: It is possible to restrict access to Insights by setting the Insights role permission to “None”
    • Limitation: Insights doesn’t support the “Read” permission
  • User Management: Admin permissions to see and manage content in the Admin Center
  • Edit Languages: Permission for Text & Multi-Language
  • Customize: Permission to perform actions in the Customize tab in the Editor
  • Publish: Permission to publish Editor content or settings

Custom Roles

You can create a custom role when you want to have very specific permissions for the role that are not included in one of the pre-defined roles.

The following role permissions are supported:

  • Administrative
  • Content
  • Data
  • Publish

Permissions Category Values Notes

Administrative

Manage Users
  • None
  • View Only
  • Limited Access
  • Edit
New! Limited Access:
  • Can assign users only to systems they are assigned to
  • Can remove users only from the systems they are assigned to
  • Can’t delete users from systems they are not assigned to OR from the entire account
  • Can’t upgrade themselves to “Admin” role
  • Can’t upgrade new or existing users to “Admin” role
  • Can’t edit user last/first name
  • Can’t edit login method
  • Can’t force reset password
  • Can’t create custom roles
  • Can’t assign users to roles
Manage Systems
  • None
  • Limited Access
  • Edit

New! Limited Access:

  • Can view only systems they are assigned to
  • Can modify only the systems they are assigned to
  • Can access the activity log, only to the systems they are assigned to
  • Can’t create new systems
  • Can delete and restore only assigned systems

Due to legacy reasons, ‘Manage Users’ is the primary permission required to access the Admin Center.
If the value assigned for ‘Manage Users’ is set to ‘None,’ there will be no option to select a value for ‘Manage Systems’

Content

Manage Content

  • None
  • View
  • Edit

Customize Templates & CSS

  • None
  • Edit

Manage Settings

  • None
  • View
  • Edit

Data

Insights Access

  • None
  • Allowed

Publish

Publish Content

  • None
  • Non-production only
  • All Environments

Publish Settings

  • None
  • Non-production only
  • All Environments

Due to legacy reasons, ‘Publish Content’ is the primary permission required to access perform publish.
If the value assigned for  ‘Publish Content’  is set to ‘None,’ there will be no option to select a value for ‘Publish settings’ or ‘Publish WM Version’ permissions

Publish WalkMe Version

  • None
  • Non-production only
  • All Environments

Create a custom role

  1. In the left menu, click Roles & Permissions
  2. Click Custom Roles
  3. Click the + icon
    • A side panel will open up
  4.  Name your custom role
  5. Click Save
  6. The new custom role will appear under the Custom roles tab

Each permission for each app has its own set of abilities under each category

Note

Only users with the following permissions can have access to the Editor:

1. The custom role must be assigned either “Manage Content: View” or “Manage Content: Edit”

2. The custom role must be assigned either “Manage Settings: View” or “Manage Settings: Edit”

Delete a custom role

  1. Hover over relevant custom role you want to delete
  2. Click the trash bin icon

Tip Tuesday Videos

Roles and Permissions

To see more Tip Tuesday videos on WalkMe World click here.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!

Be part of something bigger.

Engage with peers, ask questions, share ideas

Ask the Community
×

Select account type

Close
< Back

Mobile account login

< Back